Skyfall

Fall is supposed to bring cooler temperatures and a drying out of the summer soakings. Instead in Daytona Beach, it has been raining for days with no end in sight. The roof over my bedroom continues to leak faster with every downpour. There hasn’t been long enough of a dry spell to get up there and try to seal it (again) so I just keep changing out buckets and hoping the patch of ceiling doesn’t give way and completely fall.

Between midnight and 9am alone, we received 6.18″ of rain. The standing water was so deep that I could not get my car out of my neighborhood. I had to abandon my car and flag down a ride to work in a vehicle with a higher clearance. Hopefully it’s still there when I get a ride back after work and hopefully the water will have gone down enough by then for me to move it. Hopefully too, the rain will not be so intense tonight as to cause another flood. It’s only a mile and a half to work, easily walkable – if I didn’t have COPD. I’m good for about a half mile before I collapse.

If God will smile on me, this weather will start showing some mercy.

image

About lifeinpawprints

I'm a 40-something single mom blogging from the East Coast of Florida, trying to have faith in a world that has not been so kind. Always searching for a creative outlet, be it blogging, photography or crafting things from god-knows-what.

Posted on September 24, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

