So I’m a Sucker…

So I’m playing a freebie app on my iPod Touch, and of course an ad pops up. Typically I’d just click through it without even looking, but this one gave me pause: a tiny lithium ion battery that would charge my USB devices anywhere.

OMG

I clicked.

I cannot say how many times I have been out, away from any computer, wall outlet, or even my car, neck deep in a texting or gaming or photo-taking spree and the battery bar on my device of use behind yelling at me. There’s nowhere to charge it, so I relent and shut it off, saving that last bit of juice for an emergency.

The ad took me to Duracell’s spec page for the DR7000li where I found the miracle for which I’d been searching. I surfed my iPod on over to eBay where I picked one up from Tiger Direct for $9.99, free shipping. A few days later, my dog and I eagerly raced to the door when UPS came a’knocking. Packaging and manual tossed aside, my new charger was plugged into my laptop and charging in no time. An hour later, when that little red light turned green, I immediately switched ports and jacked it onto my cell phone: it worked! I was giddy – barely anything is compatible with my Metro PCS Samsung phone. Next, the Pod. In less than an hour, it went from dying to a big happy shiny green full bar. This little device is going to go everywhere with me.

The DR7000li took its first charge about 4 days ago and hasn’t needed recharging yet, even after numerous uses in charging my phone and iPod (which on a busy day can die on me 3-4 times). The device promises up to 35 hours of run time on USB devices in use with it, but just giving a full charge to the devices and turning it back off when the charge is complete has proven of best use.

The only drawback is that I still have to have USB cables with me, since every device pretty much has it’s own specific need. So, in my backpack live 3 cables and my new Duracell charger. We are permanently attached until the day comes that, like USB drives, each device will be cable-free, able to attach by itself to each other device.

From no paper to no cables, the all-digital, all-wireless world is coming (I hope).

About lifeinpawprints

I'm a 40-something single mom blogging from the East Coast of Florida, trying to have faith in a world that has not been so kind. Always searching for a creative outlet, be it blogging, photography or crafting things from god-knows-what.

Posted on September 17, 2010, in Opinion, Technology and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

