I miss paper and pen…

Ever since I was about 9 years old, I remember looking forward to getting a new journal for Christmas each year. I would be beside myself in wait of getting between those crisp new covers, sinking my ink (and I often wrote with a calligraphy pen) into those fresh fibers of pristine pages waiting to be filled. The new journal would have a distinct odor, slightly chemical behind the pulp of the paper. How I loved the feel of a new page!

But… Things progressed (rapidly) and tiny devices made journaling on the go easy and private, as well as much more editable. Early versions of PDA’s began taking over purse space where my little notebooks used to ride. Then came blogs, and then microblogging. Journaling is now instant and anonymous and seems to have lost its personal appeal. I would go as far as to say it’s Los its soul. Nothing is private any more.

So, I’ve taken to leading a split writing life. My soul searching goes into scattered notebooks and journals which I keep tucked away, just as in my childhood hoping no prying eyes will find them. More general thoughts land on the web where they are posted, organized, quoted, commented on, and out there for all to see the life and thoughts of this nobody.

About lifeinpawprints

I'm a 40-something single mom blogging from the East Coast of Florida, trying to have faith in a world that has not been so kind. Always searching for a creative outlet, be it blogging, photography or crafting things from god-knows-what.

Posted on June 14, 2010, in Creativity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

