Before I Am Persecuted…

After a… disconcerting discussion last night (until it was made clear that I was actually defended), I tried and tried to find anything about myself that would equate my Pagan belief structure with those things dark and negative. The truth is, I couldn’t find anything dark within me.

I cannot call what I believe in/follow a ‘religion’. To me, a religion is defined as a set of hard and fast rules to be followed in the praise of a higher being. Mine is more defined as a “path.” It winds this way and that through a vast wood, avoiding obstacles as it winds up a mountainside, becoming clearer and freer the longer I stay to it. In the day it is warm and sunlit, speckled with Light. In the dark of night, a blanket of stars prove that there is life beyond.

My path is strongly Druidic, that is to say, based in Nature and the Human Spirit, as well as those of the animals, the plants, even the sea, the earth, the stone… you may call it animism. I hold a high reverence for Nature and for all living things. I hold a high reverence for the deceased, as spirits that walk among us, below and above is, even more so those who have risen in consciousness to become the Spirit Guides, Teachers, and Angels who walk with me. My code of morality can be defined in two words: “Harm None.”

I am not a “witch.” I am most definitely NOT a satanist. I engage in no dark or evil work or deeds. I am an energy worker, a healer. I have the ability to touch and manipulate ever so subtly the energies around me. I have the ability to counsel, and more often than not in doing so, it is the words of my Spirit Guides that speak through me. The Archangel Michael is my strongest protector.

I put others before myself, and truly believe I was brought here in this time to teach and to serve. My energy work often requires that my spirit be in touch with – and even within – the spiritual world – other planes. I do not believe in the use of drugs – I want NO chemicals in my body – and I do not use any outside influence to obtain trance states for my astral work. For this a mind and body must be pure. An impure conscience produces impure deeds. I have seen the beauties and the truths which lie beyond what narrow minds can conceive, and I refuse to limit my thinking and my experience to what one person or group says is “right” or “the only way.”

I do believe in God, but perhaps not in the same way that you do. I define God as The Source – that source of energy from which all things were created. And like a diamond, like every human being, that God or Source has many facets, each reflecting a different beam of light, a different side of personality, each known by a different name… God, Allah, Mohamed, Gaia, Isis, Thor, Zeus, Shiva, Pan… all of them… all the faces, all the names, each a different understanding, a different translation from a different race or tribe or clan. We will define our gods in the way that makes them the most relatable and comprehensible to us, as human beings, as we all learn and understand differently – and this is what we will follow. There is no “right or wrong” way – each way is the right way – for that individual who has found *their* way to understanding the higher power that guides them.

THIS… is what I believe. This is what I am. Persecute me, prejudge me if you will – but my spirit will not be shaken, and I will remain a good person.

About lifeinpawprints

I'm a 40-something single mom blogging from the East Coast of Florida, trying to have faith in a world that has not been so kind. Always searching for a creative outlet, be it blogging, photography or crafting things from god-knows-what.

Posted on April 20, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

