Recycled Pixels?

So I’m sitting in my treehouse in Second Life, and a notice drops down from one of the groups I’m in…

Eco-Friendly Victorian Loveseat Only L$10!
Thursday, 21 Jan 2010 23:40:15 GMT

Feel like a queen with the ‘Regal’ Victorian Loveseat with its traditionally elegant design and blended organic cotton fabrics and lovely polished recycled wood. Only L$10!

… are you kidding me? Alright… everything about SL is pretty eco-friendly, until the graphics fry your laptop and it ends up as a seagull landing pad in some landfill somewhere. I’m still trying to get my head round the use of “organic” and “recycled” though… are these pixels growing up in some fancily manicured free-range pasture, completely free of Dr McAfee’s electronic anti-viral injections? Are poor pixel trees being axed by the thousands and shipped off to virtual pixel-lumber mills where the wasted bits (and bytes) are scavenged to create this loverly toon sofa?

Alright, just to humour the creators, I went to see the free-range rescued pixels in place. *coughs*

It was the only piece of furniture rezzed in the small storefront. The ad was more colourful than the piece itself. I’m sorry but… not even for 10 Lindens. I play a lot of Zyngo to earn my Lindens! What’s creepier – the woman sitting on it (who is not I), actually matched the shades of it. It was just a visual WTF?

Alright, done raging for now. Next time, don’t use pretty words to drag me out of my treehouse in nothing but a teddy! (Glad you all enjoyed the show.)

About lifeinpawprints

I'm a 40-something single mom blogging from the East Coast of Florida, trying to have faith in a world that has not been so kind. Always searching for a creative outlet, be it blogging, photography or crafting things from god-knows-what.

Posted on January 21, 2010, in Opinion, Second Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Not to be pedantic, but SecondLife (and any other online service) is far from eco-friendly. The server farms these services are hosted on utilize lots of (non-renewal sourced) power and energy. Then there’s the laptop/desktop computer you’re using which again – even in energy saver mode – is still chewing through power.

    I’ll shut up now and go back to my corner. 😉

  2. While you’re in that corner, perhaps you can think of a few good answers to your own commentary, were it turned back on you…

    How did you log on to post that comment? Were you using an energy-munching computer – laptop or otherwise? Perhaps a small and handy wireless device, made muchly of mass-produced plastics only to be mass-marketed over the air waves and in countless tonnes of landfill-padding mailers while polluting your surroundings with waves of communicative energy back and forth to yet another device which is also munching up those precious energy particles while it runs connected to an even larger network of environmentally unfriendly wires and plastics back to the ISP it connects with to provide you with such a service?

    And on the larger scale, what is your ISP using to link up all its interweb consumers, mind waves? I don’t think this civilization is yet quite that technically advanced…

    Think before you post luv – you’re just as guilty as those you accuse.

    • See, that’s the thing. I don’t care that I’m not eco-friendly. I’ll be the first person to admit that I like technology, even if it is getting to the point now where it’s out of control.

      My argument wasn’t “you’re a bad person, you play second life and it uses energy – it’s not eco-friendly; I don’t use second life so I’m a good person – I’m saving energy”. My argument was that “second life is far from being eco-friendly”. nothing more than that. I was just stating a fact. I didn’t suggest I was some eco-warrior.

      I just had to raise an eyebrow over the “… everything about second life is pretty eco-friendly…” comment made in your post.

      • Now see, you’ve gone on a long rant (and made me go on one in response to yours) over something you’ve taken completely out of context and overanalyzed improperly in relation the the REST of that sentence, as well as the interjection that led into it.

        That’s just annoying and, I daresay, bloggishly improper.

Leave a Reply

