The Well, The Watcher, The Wife and The Wacko

The Well: Earlier this week, I got a call from the water company telling me something didn’t seem right.  I’d noticed something awry as well, but I did not know what.  My normal water bill is $20.90, never higher, as I never use over 3,000 gallons a month, and it’s a flat rate up to that point.  A few months ago, my bill went to $40.  I thought I’d missed a payment somewhere, so I didn’t think anything of it and I paid it.  Then I get a bill for $80.  Ok, something is not right at all.  I paid my usual $20.90 and called the water company.  They saw nothing out of the ordinary, only stating that my water usage had “increased slightly.  Slightly, hell.  But, I started watching things a lot more closely.  The next bill I got, for May, was an incredible $121.00.  Right around that time, the water company called me to say, “ok, something is really wrong.”  They suggested  I had a leak somewhere, but there were no leaks inside my apartment, no soggy ground indicating a pipe leak.  When they told me the meter-read for that billing period was 27,000 gallons and the next apartment was reading ZERO since the beginning of the year, I told them to have someone come out right away and check things out.  Alyn suggested that the next door neighbors may be using my water, and that seemed more a possibility since they’ve been watering twice a day, front and back, all their new landscaping.  I called my landlord and they had a maintenance guy come out who confirmed that my neighbors had indeed been using my water – everything for the duplex was going through my meter.  I got copies of all the bills, all the readings, and sent them over to the landlord’s office and will somehow be receiving credit for all the overages that I have already paid (not knowing so at the time) for the neighbor’s usage, $158.99 to be exact.  Plus once the bill for the June 1 reading of 28,000 gallons hits – the landlord will have to pay that too because it was THEIR error.  What happened was this building used to have a well that fed both units, so there was a switch pipe installed.  When they had city water installed, they never split up the feeder pipe, so everything ran through my apartment still.  With a little collaboration between me, the landlord, the neighbors and the water company, this is all getting sorted out rather painlessly.

The Watcher: Huw… my soulmate, my best friend, my guide and guard, keeper of my heart, mind and spirit… has gone missing again.  It has been over 2 weeks since I’ve heard from him, and I have no way of reaching him, short of picking up and flying my butt to Adelaide which isn’t at all possible.  For 3 weeks in April he was hospitalized with DVT and a mini stroke, which took 2 surgeries to clear two major clots in his legs, then he was home for a few days and back in the hospital with adult chicken pox which left him paralyzed until they started to subside.  The last I heard from him was on May 20th, telling me that nothing would stop him from coming to me.  He told me how much he loved me, and that was the last I heard from him.  I have no idea what is happening with his health, his divorce, his other issue, his job, his apartment, anything.  He would always talk to me from work as it was already late evening for me at that time and we had hours to talk.  I’m honestly scared for him because I know what he was going through the last we spoke.  I need to hear from him to settle my mind that he is making it through all the obstacles being thrown at him and that the stress hasn’t consumed him.  I need my soulmate back 😦

The Wife: My ex’s new wife called me up this afternoon nearly in tears.  He started doing the same shit to her that he did to me, only this time it only took him a year of marriage to be “done.”  The neglect, the borderline abuse, the sociopathic episodes, all came out and they started splitting up a month ago, with him finally moving out of her place last weekend.  She just now got up the nerve to call me and vent — we had not been close before.  All the things she was telling me was an echo of all the things he’d done to me.  During one of their fights a few weeks ago, she told him he needed to go out, go take a walk, whatever.  He said, “If I leave, will you cry?”  She said, “What?” He repeated, “If I leave, will you cry?”  She said, “Well I’m not gonna throw a party, but I won’t be happy about it either, why would you ask me something like that?”  His response, perfectly emotionless, “It’s just for informational purposes.”  She asked me what the hell that was supposed to mean.  I had no answer other than that’s the way he’s always been, I tried to warn her in the beginning, he’s a clinical sociopath, he is mentally and emotionally unbalanced.  She wouldn’t believe me, I didn’t expect her to, I was the ex and she was in love.  But now he’s taken off with my daughter and though she is still in the same school, I do not know what address she is staying at.  And THAT is a direct violation of court order.  He is supposed to inform me any time there is an address change, and his (now) ex informed me, but also did not know his address.  Shit is going to fly the next time I speak with him, and I will no doubt be doing some counseling with my daughter this weekend.  He is such a bastard.  His family is no different.  I found out the hard way, and now so has she.  He will be going through two divorces at once now – both brought on by himself.  But, as his new ex wife put it, she supported him these past few years, his mommy is out of money to fund any more attorneys for him, he can pay for this one his own damn self.

The Wacko: Ladies Beware.  There is a sexual stalker lurking in the text-friend communities named Sean.  He texts from caller ID #760-401-4680 and incessantly demands nude pictures.  When you deny him, he pushes harder, telling you you’re twisted then tries saying you’re harassing him, threatening you, and starts texting you “I warned you…” and other such bullshit when all you have told him is “No, not interested, stop texting me.”  He does not take no for an answer.  If you’re in any texting communities, DO NOT give this person your number.  He says he is married and a professional, he looks to be in his late 20’s to early 30’s.  His cell traces back to AT&T in Twentynine Palms, San Bernardino County, CA.  His sexual harassment via text to my phone became so severe that my fiancee notified the authorities in his area.

That is my update for the week… I neglected to include our new kitten in this post because he deserves his own, happy post 🙂

About lifeinpawprints

I'm a 40-something single mom blogging from the East Coast of Florida, trying to have faith in a world that has not been so kind. Always searching for a creative outlet, be it blogging, photography or crafting things from god-knows-what.

Posted on June 5, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

